News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

Junior C Final Preview

posted 8 Nov 2014, 12:36 by Garret Byrne
Junior C Shield Final
Sun 9th Nov, in Carnmore 12noon

The Kinvara and Padraig Pearses clubs clash again for the third time in two weeks. First blood was to them as they defeated us in the Senior Relegation Final, while our Junior B semi-final finished in a draw last weekend. This time the Kinvara representatives are our Junior C's who have enjoyed a good season so far, and who hope to enjoy it better come tomorrow afternoon!

Manager Tommie Hanlon and his backroom team of Aidan Fahy, Michael Bermingham and Frank Quinn have left no stone unturned in having the lads prepared for this one. They had to dig deep in the shield semi-final against Annaghdown, but will know that an improvement will be needed tomorrow if success is to venture to our shores.
The squad is loaded with determination, and with 5 player of the months in the side (John Donoghue, Padraic Moylan, Declan Keane, Frankie Quinn, Fintan Byrne), the panel is full of both experience and youthful energy, with three minors adding the bit of speed - they are John Donohue, Tommie Kavanagh and Oisin Fahy, while Dylan O'Hanrahan is still U21 for another year. 
The team will also look to the wily experience of goalie Conor Quinn, while Aidan Fahy and Darren Geaney help form a formidable rearguard. Elsewhere, Michael O'Connor, Mickey Kavanagh and John Kavanagh are all having solid seasons, and up front Francis Comyn, Shane Sullivan and Martin O'Connell add energy and scoretaking capabilities. The squad also has the two veterans Aidan Kilkelly and Colie McGarry who have proved more than capable when called upon.
Our one injury doubt is Mr. Captain Rory Quinn. He came off in the semi-final, and is in a race to be fit, but if not on the field of play, he will still play his role from the line. 

Kinvara and Pearses met twice last year in Junior C. In the group stages we drew 2-8 apiece, while in the shield semi-final they scored an impressive win.
The Kinvara lads will be eager to make amends for that, and also to be the first team this year to bring a bit of silverware back home. 

Team squad:
Conor Quinn, Rory Quinn (Capt), Darren Geaney, Padraic Moylan, Aidan Fahy, Fintan Byrne, Francis Comyn, Michael O'Connor, John Donoghue, John Kavanagh, Shane Sullivan, Martin O'Connell, Mickey Kavanagh, Frankie Quinn, Declan Keane, Tommie Kavanagh, Oisin Fahy, Dylan O'Hanrahan, Aidan Kilkelly, Colie McGarry.