News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

Junior C Hurling Championship preview

posted 30 May 2013, 04:03 by Unknown user
The eagerly awaited Junior C hurling Championship throws in this weekend, with an exciting round of matches in store.

This is Kinvara's only second year fielding a 3rd adult side, and so we are still treading new waters. Last year we were in Junior C1, and this year we find ourselves up a grade in Junior C. However, under the new management of Tommie Hanlon and Aidan Fahy, the Kinvara lads will be hoping for a good campaign, and will be putting in a huge effort over the coming months.

First championship match pairs us against South Galway rivals Kilbeacanty. They beat us handily last year in the Junior C1 Championship, in which they impressed, heading all the way to the final.
- 2 Groups of 8 teams.
- each side plays 7 group matches.
- top 4 head to championship quarter-finals
- bottom 4 head to shield quarter-finals

Group A
Kinvara, Kilbeacanty, Clarinbridge, Liam Mellows, Ballindereen, St. Thomas TAD, Padraig Pearses.

Kinvara: last year competed in Junior C1. Did not qualify from the group, after played 4 and won 1.
Kilbeacanty: last year competed in Junior C1. Topped their group with 5 wins from 5. Lost the C1 final to Ballinasloe by 0-9 to 0-5.
Clarinbridge: last year in C, lost quarter-final to TAD o scoreline of 3-12 to 0-14.
Liam Mellows: last year competed in Junior C1. In group, played 5 and won 4, and then lost semi-final to Kilbeacanty by 1-11 to 0-7.
Ballindereen: last year in Junior C, they lost the quarter-final to eventual winners Athenry by 3-13 to 0-4.
St. Thomas': last year competed in Junior C1. Did not qualify form the group, after playing 4 and lost 4.
TAD: last year in Junior C, they lost the semi-final to eventual winners Athenry by 3-15 to 0-6.
Padraig Pearses: did not have a third adult team last year.

Note: of the above teams in the group......
Club's 4th side: Clarinbridge
Club's 3rd side: Kinvara, Liam Mellows, Ballindereen, St. Thomas, TAD and Padraig Pearses.
Club's 2nd side: Kilbeacanty.

Group B
Kilnadeema-Leitrim, Ahascragh-Fohenagh, Meelick-Eyrecourt, Loughrea, Tommie Larkins, Carnmore, Mullagh, Annaghdown.