News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

Minor Hurling Preview

posted 11 Apr 2014, 11:58 by Garret Byrne   [ updated 11 Apr 2014, 12:33 ]
PIER HEAD MINOR A Hurling Championship
Kinvara v Liam Mellows
Sunday 13th April, in Gort 4:30pm

Kinvara minor hurlers start their Minor A Hurling Championship this coming Sunday with a fixture against Liam Mellows. Last year we opened our campaign against the same opposition with a defeat and manager Derek Smith will be hoping to reverse that result this time around. 
This is his second year in charge, and our second year in succession in Minor A. The last time we did two years in a row in Minor A was in 2004-2005, with only the rare occasion before that. Although the group stages didnt go quite our way last year, we did recover strongly and scored a strong win in the Minor A Shield final last October. Most of the team is still underage again this year, with competition for starting places at a healthy high.
Two years ago we competed in U16A and held our own, winning two group matches and losing three, but competitive in all. We just lost out of reaching the knockout stages in a playoff, and the management this year will be aiming to better that, and take it from there.
Favourites this year are without doubt Turloughmore - All-Ireland Feile U14 winners four years ago, and county U16A champions two years ago. After them, it is anybodys, with probably Gort leading the chasing pack. 
Such is Minor A that no game will be easy, and what we have learned is that everything must be right, and all players must be fully tuned in and focused. If not, then one will be punished. 

Sunday's match will be a typical Minor A game, with a win there for the taking, but only, and only if 110% given. Liam Mellows are a very good side, and have the edge on us from last year. But our lads will be ready and will know that an opening win can be scored here.

PIER HEAD Minor A Hurling Championship
Kinvara, Liam Mellows, Gort, Castlegar, Tommie Larkins, Kilnadeema-Leitrim, Craughwell

Turloughmore, Ardrahan, Clarinbridge, Cappataggle, Loughrea, Athenry, Kilconieron.

Note: Top 4 in each group qualify for the quarter-finals.

Kinvara SQUAD:
Ronan Kilkelly, Shane Byrne, Conor Whelan, Dara Whelan, Rory O'Dwyer, Dylan McMahon, James O'Hara, Tommie Kavanagh, Ollie Nilan, Gary Kilkelly, Sean Linnane, Alan Keane, James Cronin-Rodger, Thomas Fordham, Joe Tully, Owen Whelan, Patrick Whelan, John Donoghue, Liam Byrne, Patrick O'Gallagher, Conor O'Shea, Keelan O'Rourke. 

MANAGEMENT: Derek Smith (Manager), Pat Conole, David Huban, Enda Costello, Martin Sullivan.