News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

The Toddie Byrne Cup

posted 11 Sep 2014, 14:27 by Garret Byrne   [ updated 13 Sep 2014, 00:22 ]
This Saturday will see the 9th year of the Toddie Byrne Cup. 
Last years final was a thrilling contest and we can expect an even better context this time around, with all players on a high after recently clinching the county U13B title a week ago. 
Captains this year are Patrick Byrne and David Whelan - will the Cup return to the Byrne household, or will it stay in Carnamadra?
Throw in take place at 4:00pm.

Here is some background info:

2013......Simon Whelan
2012......Neil Huban
2011......Conor O'Shea
2010......James Cronin-Rodger
2009.......Shane Byrne
2008.......Conor Whelan
2007......Philip McNamara
2006......David Burke

2013.......Simon Whelan (Captain), Thomas Connolly, Aidan O'Sullivan, Darren Kilkelly, Ciaran Donohue, David Whelan, Jake Comyn, Cathal Fordham, Dara Helebert, Tuan O'Malley, Jamie Killeen.

Toddie Byrne (1934-2006) was a stalwart figure in Kinvara GAA and in Galway GAA. He won South Board hurling titles and a County Junior title in 1959, while he also served as club officer in the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, and 2000's. He also held many officer roles at County Board level, including the position of President. However it was at juvenile level that he had a great passion and was involved in the foundation of Coiste Iomana na nOg in the 1960s. He managed several teams to success down through the years, aswell as successes with Killomoran NS and especially Doorus NS in the early 80s. 
The Toddie Byrne Cup was presented to the club in 2006 by his wife Grainne and we are delighted to say has become an important part of our club calendar ever since.