News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

U16B1: Kinvara 3-13, Skehana 2-15

posted 8 May 2014, 14:02 by Garret Byrne
The game of the year was played this evening between the Kinvara and Skehana U16 hurlers. This match had everything, from great skill, tackling, scoretaking and a late, late dramatic finish.
In the end it was Kinvara who came out on top with a late injury time goal to win 3-13 to 2-15.
The halftime score saw Skehana in front 0-9 to 1-5. Kinvara, with the wind in the secondhalf, took the lead shortly after the resumption. Another goal, and we took a 5 point lead. But Skehana came back, and to their credit regained the lead, when they scored a goal with 5 mins left. They then shot a point to go 3 ahead with 1 minute of normal time left (2-15 to 2-12). A Kinvara free was batted out, only for us to score a point from the rebound. Up the field again, and another foul by Skehana. It was dropped in, batted out the side, pulled back in by Cathal Murray, and Colm Keady-Taabal, 15 yards out, took possession, and turned and rifled past a maze of players to the back of the net. Game was over, and Kinvara won by a single point.
Fair play to both sides. Skehana, to their credit, played some great hurling, and can feel unlucky not to get something from this match. They played with great spirit and skill, and had some fine hurlers throughout.
Kinvara lads worked hard for this, and never gave up, and battled for this win even when the chips were down. Well done lads. We delighted for ye and the effort you put in.
Kinvara team:
Liam Byrne, Cathal O'Dwyer, Patrick Gallagher, Sean Cahill, Luke Connors, Neil Huban, Odhran Keane, Conor O'Shea, Keelan O'Rourke, Thomas Connolly, Brendan Connolly, Ger Linnane, Jeff Stephens, Colm Keady-Taabal, Cathal Murray, with subs Conor McGourty and Louis Fossatti.

The table after 5 matches each, sees:
Portumna 10 points.
Ballindereen 8 points.
Ballinasloe 6 points.
Kinvara, Skehana, Meelick-Eyrecourt & Abbeyknockmoy 4 points each.
Sylane 0 points.

All to play for with two match left each. Kinvara have to play both Ballindereen and Ballinasloe.
Remember, top 4 make it to the Championship semi-finals.