News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

U16s take to Championship this Thursday

posted 9 Apr 2013, 14:43 by Unknown user
Our U16 hurlers begin their Ocean Hygiene U16 A1 Championship this Thursday with a visit to near neighbours and rivals Ardrahan. This will be a tricky and tough opener in what will surely be a tough group in this grade.

Two years ago these two sides met twice - once in the Toddie Byrne Cup and then in the Feile na nGael. Ardahan won the first and Kinvara won the second. There was little to separate the two sides on both days and everything points to Thursday being the very same. Both sides will be keen to start the campaign with a win, and so this promises to be a real cracker. Both managers would have found it difficult to get their squads together in recent weeks with players involved in both U14 and minor club sides also, so there is an element of the unknown form coming into this match.

Two years ago Kinvara competed in the U14 B grade and lost the quarter-final to Killimordaly. This is a step up in grade for this keen bunch of lads, but they should be well up for it. Some played in U16A last year, while a handful of them are also on this years Minor A side. Different to two year ago is that some of the younger players are pushing right hard for team places and they are bringing an element of freshness to the side.

Also in the group this year are Athenry (18th April), Kilconieron (25th April), Kiltormer (2nd May), Killimor (9th May), Gort (27th June), TAD (4th July). There is nothing easy about any of these matches. All teams in the group either played in U14 A two years ago, or got to the U14B semi-finals two years ago. It is the credit to our bunch of players that they are relishing the challenge this year and are keen to make their mark. 

The squad is:
Ollie Nilan, Gary Kilkelly, John O'Donohue, Eoin Whelan, Alan Keane, Sean Linnane, James Cronin-Rodger, Thomas Fordham, Joe Tully, Brendan Quinn, Patrick Whelan, Liam Byrne, Patrick O'Gallachoir, Keelan O'Rourke, Conor O'Shea, Odhran Keane, Cathal O'Dwyer, Colm Keady Taabal, Brendan Connolly, Neil Huban.

Management of Pat Conole, Enda Costello, David Noone and Johnny Donohue.