News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

U21 Championship for this weekend.

posted 18 Mar 2014, 15:11 by Garret Byrne
Its been a while, so we'd said we'd remind you of this years U21 B Hurling Championship draw and format, ahead of this weekend's opening matches.

Format for U21 B is:
- 16 teams.
- Round 1.......8 matches (winners advance to Round 2, losers get second chance in Round 3)
- Round 2.......the 8 winners from Round 1....... 4 matches. (the 4 winners now in quarters, while 4 losers in Preliminary quarters).
- Round 3.......the 8 losers from Round 1........ 4 matches. (the 4 winners now in preliminary quarters, while the 4 losers are bye bye!)

Simple! In summary, each of the 16 teams get two opening matches.
- win 2 / lose 0, and in quarter-finals.
- win 1 / lose 1. and in preliminary quarter-finals.
- win 0 / lose 2, and out.

Full draw for U21B Hurling. 
Michael Cusacks v Sarsfields,
Killimor v Moycullen,
Liam Mellows v Cois Fharraige,
Kinvara v Padraig Pearses,
Mullagh v Kilconieron,
Meelick/Eyrecourt v Abbeyknockmoy,
Killimordaly v Ballinderreen,
Carnmore v Oranmore Maree.

U21 A Hurling Championship 2014:
Loughrea v Athenry,
Gort v Clarinbridge,
Cappataggle v Ardrahan,
Rahoon/Salthill v Tynagh/Abbey/Duniry,
Turloughmore v St Thomas,
Kilnadeema/Leitrim v Portumna,
Ahascragh/Fohenagh v Tommie Larkins,
Castlegar v Craughwell.