Kinvara knocked out of Toddie Byrne Feile Cup

posted 29 Mar 2011, 02:24 by Unknown user
Ardrahan 1-8 v Kinvara 2-3
A slow start to this game by Kinvara proved costly as they lost in this opening round game in the County Feile U14 Hurling Toddie Byrne Cup.
Played in Ardrahan on Sunday, the Kinvara lads left too much to do after not scoring until halfway through the second half. Credit must go to a spirited Ardrahan goalie and defence so up to that point held firm and cleared many scoring and goal chances.
Although the game was close in terms of possession, it was Ardrahan who took the lead at halftime by 0-4 to 0-0.
In the second half they tagged on an early goal and a poin tto lead 1-5 to 0-0. it didnt look good for the Kinvara lads. However they dug deep and started to get the badly needed scores. Ollie Nilan scored a point from play, before he addede another from a free. Then after Keelan O'Rourke was fouled, Ollie stuck the resulting free to the back of the net. We now had a serious game on our hands. Then a long ball in from Alan Keane was flicked by Ollie to the back of the net. The game was now level with only 3 minutes left. Kinvara went on the attack again straight from the puck-out but unfortunately the ball went unluckily wide. Momemtum was lsot as Ardrahan went up the field and were fouled. The free was pointed, and they followed up with another late free deep in injury time.
So it was not to be. It was a spirited comeback by Kinvara, but credit to Ardrahan for holding their nerve and clinching it at the end. Again, the failings of the first half proved costly for Kinvara, and it was a pity after some great hurling in the second half.
Up next for Kinvara is the Shield Competition, and we wish Ardrahan all the best in their next game.
Kinvara team:
Oisin Fahy, Joe Tully, John O'Donohue, Mark Deegan, Sean Linnane, Eoin Whelan, Conor O'Shea, Patrick Whelan, Keelan O'Rourke, Alan Keane, Ollie Nilan, Tomas Fordham, Cathal O'Dwyer, Gary Kilkelly, Liam Byrne.
Colm Keady for Alan Keane (inj), Alan Keane (ok again!) for Colm Keady, James Cronin Rodger (Inj), Patrick O'Gallachoir, Neil Huban, Sean Cahill, Brendan Connolly