Kinvara struggle into semis

posted 19 Apr 2011, 14:26 by Unknown user
Kinvara 3-4 v Mullagh 3-3
Kinvara U14 hurlers just about made it past East Galway opponents Mullagh in this Toddie Byrne Plate quarterfinal in Faiche Padraig earlier this evening.
Although Kinvara were missing James Cronin-Rodger, Keelan O'Rourke and Conor O'Shea, they still had a very strong team going out. However a younger Mullagh side put it right up to them. Mullagh will indeed feel themselves unlucky as they fought right til the end, and were probably the better overall team on the night.
Both sides started the first half with goals, with Mullagh opening first. Kinvara struck a second and then a third to take a lead. However Mullagh replied before half-time. Half-time Kinvara 3-2 v Mullagh 2-1.
But Mullagh battled hard in the second half. Their lads were first to the ball and really showed our lads a lesson in tenacity and eagerness. Kinvara held on to a slender lead of 1 point for the last 5 minutes. However in that time we had some hairy moments. First a 20yard free was blocked, there was goal-mouth scrambles, Patrick Whelan blocked down a certain score, in fact all backs almost defended with their lives. Mullagh were left to rue perhaps the fact that they went searching for a killer goal, when in fact an equalising point would probably have been followed with another one for the win. 
However for Kinvara it was a case of not playing particularly well, and yet escaping. Very few players can be happy with their performance. Ollie Nilan did score all of our 3-4, but our best player was probably Joe Tully who put in a dashing hardworking performance at wing back. Some of the younger lads also played well, while others had their good patches.
All players though will have to increase their workrate if we are to progress. Some lads emptied the tank on the field, but unfortunately others barely raised a sweat. The chances will run out soon.
Next up is Loughrea in the semi.
Kinvara team:
Oisin Fahy, Patrick O'Gallachoir, John O'Donoghue, Mark Deegan, Joe Tully, Owen Whelan, Patrick Whelan, Tomas Fordham, Sean Linnane, Liam Byrne, Alan Keane, Colm Keady, Cathal O'Dwyer, Gary Kilkelly, Ollie Nilan (3-4).
Brendan Connolly (on), Sean Cahill, Neil Huban.
By The Spectator