Minors draw with Cashel

posted 6 May 2014, 03:59 by Garret Byrne
PIER HEAD MINOR A Hurling Championship
Monday 5th May 2014


This was round 3 of the Pier Head Minor A Hurling Championship, and what an exciting match it was played by two spirited sides, in windy Ballindereen yesterday evening.

Castlegar played with the wind in the opening half, and led early with two points. On the 3rd minute, Kinvara centreback James O'Hara shot over from halfway, and this was followed by two more from Conor Whelan. After thirteen minutes, it was Castlegar back in the lead by 0-5 to 0-3, but by the 23rd minute, Kinvara shot in front with a Conor Whelan goal, and now led 1-5 to 0-7. Castlegar responded well in the next 5 minutes with 4 points to take the lead again by three. Conor Whelan shot over another free, but Castlegar extended their lead with 1-1 in the first half injury time.
Half-time: Castlegar 1-12, Kinvara 1-6.

Kinvara needed to bridge the gap early in the second half, and that they did. Within the next 6 minutes, Kinvara had scored a total of 6 times, including a goal and five points. Our 6 point deficit had now turned into a 2 point lead. That lead was again extended with 20 minutes left, with another point from play.
But Castlegar werent ready to give up, and quickly regained the lead by the three quarter mark. They first scored a goal from a penalty, and then followed with two points from play. 
Ronan Kilkelly first and then Conor Whelan, had the match all square again with 10 minutes remaining. Points were then exchanged, but then Kinvara stretched the lead to three points, with some great point taking.
With a minute of normal time left, up attacked Castlegar, and they worked the ball into the Kinvara goal, where the corner forward fired home to equalise.
Kinvara attacked after that but could not get the winner.

So a draw, and credit for both sides. They were each behind at various times in this match, and each time they rallied back and equalised and often regained the lead. Both sides will be content with a draw, although Kinvara may be the bit more disappointed to give up a three point lead so late in the match. 

Liam Byrne, John Donoghue, Shane Byrne, Dylan McMahon, Alan Keane, James O'Hara 0-1, James Cronin-Rodger, Keelan O'Rourke, Ronan Kilkelly 0-4, Gary Kilkelly, Conor Whelan 2-12 (0-4f, 0-2 '65), Ollie Nilan 0-1, Joe Tully, Sean Linnane, Thomas Fordham.
Subs: Conor O'Shea for T. Fordham, Owen Whelan for J. Tully, Rory O'Dwyer, Tommie Kavanagh, Patrick Whelan, Patrick O'Gallagher, Brendan Connolly.