T-A-D hunger too much for Kinvara

posted 27 May 2011, 13:58 by Unknown user
Kinvara 4-2 v Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry 4-4

A blustery wet evening in Faiche Padraig last Wednesday evening saw Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry hold out against Kinvara U14 hurlers. This was the final game of the group, and with both sides already qualifed qualifed for the quarters, there was still much to play for as both wanted to finish higher in the group.
TAD started brighter with an early goal. Kinvara replied with a point from Ollie Nilan. But TAD replied with two more of their own. Kinvara through the hard-working Sean Linnane score another point, but that was quickly responded by a well-worked TAD goal. They led at half-time 2-2 to 0-2, but in fact could have been more ahead as they shot several wides.
TAD settled better in the second half and shot an early point. But the Kinvara lads rallied and scored two goals through James Cronin-Rodgers and Ollie Nilan. This left the scores now 2-2 to 2-3 to TAD. However TAD went back up the field and shot another goal and point to leave them now 3-4 to 2-2 ahead. Time was now running out. Kinvara responded with another goal to leave just 2 points in it. But again TAD replied with another goal. With time almost up Kinvara shot another goal to leave two points in it. In the dying second a goal shot from Kinvara was brillantly saved and so TAD held on for a much deserved win.
Credit to the TAD lads who proved more up for the game, and will be happy with this win away from home.
The Kinvara side will be disappointed with their performance, and will know that more displays like that will see an abrupt end to their championship hopes next Monday.
Kinvara side:
Oisin Fahy, Cathal O'Dwyer, Gary Kilkelly, Alan Keane, Conor O'Shea, James Cronin-Rodger 1-0, Joe Tully, Patrick Whelan, John Donoghue, Keelan O'Rourke, Owen Whelan, Tomas Fordham, Patrick O'Gallachoir, Sean Linnane 0-1, Ollie Nilan 3-1.
Subs: Liam Byrne for P O'Gallachoir, Brendan Connolly, Sean Cahill, Neil Huban, Gerard Linnane, Colm Keady, Odhran Keane and Conor McGourty.